When an idea is shipped (marked as “Idea Completed”), you will get your votes back. The votes on the completed idea will stay there (for historical accuracy), however if you look at My Votes on the left navigation the number of votes that you had on the completed item will be reallocated.
As an example:
If you were allocated 20 votes , you will see the following:
If you put 10 votes on two different ideas (Idea A and Idea B), you will see the following:
When idea A changes status to “Idea Completed”, you should automatically be allocated back the 10 votes that you had placed on Idea A without the need to remove any votes from the completed idea. You will then see 10/20 under “My votes” on the left navigation.
HINT: You can also easily view your votes is to click on the “My votes” on the left navigation. By selecting, it will filter on all ideas that you have voted on and show you any available votes.
For further information on this, see our blog post Here